Lets go bowling…

So it is a friends birthday tonight, he loves bowling so I thought it only fitting that I make a bowling ball cake for him.

It really is easier than you think- and you don’t even need to buy special tins- I just use some oven proof bowls that we had at home…

Cake in a bowl

Cut and fill the cake with chocolate butter cream..

Layered up ready to ice

Next cover in butter cream- this is called a crumb coat- stops cake getting everywhere and helps the fondant stick

Final crumb coat

I marbled some icings together to look like one of the balls you get when you hire them..

Starting to cover

Marbling chocolate fondant and ivory I made a wood grain for the bowling lane..

Wood grain

I made 10 little pins, hey they are not perfect but they were made with love…

Super shine on the ball

I sprayed the ball with a little oil to make it super shiny- and I’m done…

Final cake

Leave a Reply

