I wish you could smell my house.

I wish you could smell my house. Its warm nutty spiced air is a dream to write in.

I had a crap sleep (Can I say that? Sorry if my language offended some people)

I woke at 1:30am with a cat next to me forcing me into the middle of the bed, where I was all hot and uncomfortable, my knee had shooting pains and I found myself still awake at 3:30am reading recipes on my phone dreaming of what I wanted to eat to keep me going once I was meant to be awake in a few hours.

I wanted something with ingredients I had in the house, I wanted something Gluten free, I wanted a million dollars- shame you can’t bake that!!

I found a recipe for some Cinnamon bun type things sounded good, had to make a few changes as it didn’t quite match the exact ingredients I had to use but hey- still looked good!

Cinnamon Walnut Loaf 

1/4 cup Almond meal (ground Almonds)

1/4 cup Coconut flour

1/4 cup Agave Nectar (or Honey, Golden syrup, Maple syrup)

1/4 cup Apple puree

1/3 cup Sour Cream (could use yoghurt, milk with some vinegar or lemon in it)

2 Eggs

1/4tsp Salt

1/4 tsp Baking soda

Mix in a bowl with a whisk to remove all the lumps- let sit so the Coconut flour can adsorb some of the moisture, Spoon into the tin and top with topping.

I made mine in a Loaf pan – Muffins would be fine too.

Walnut Cinnamon topping

2Tbs Coconut oil melted

2Tbs Cinnamon

4Tbs Agave nectar (or Honey, Golden syrup,Maple syrup)

1/4- 1/2 cup nuts- I used Walnuts

Mix together and spoon onto the above mix.

You could marble the walnut mix through with a skewer if you like.

Bake 180c 35min – this was for a loaf- time will be less for muffins.

IMG_0936

Leave a Reply

