Warm and sticky

Mr Lid has three Dads.

Dad one is his real father.

Dad two is the father who raised him.

Dad three is Dad because he is currently married to Mr Lids Mum.

In all the time I have known Mr Lid I have met Dad one twice- once to say hello, and the second time was at our Wedding. He is a lovely man, very typical kiwi, still in his stubbie shorts sitting in his shed watching sport on T.V drinking beer.

He lives miles away, up the top of New Zealand with his wife (Mr Lids step mum) needless to say Mr Lids family table at the Wedding was Fun Fun Fun.

We are heading up there tomorrow, and in true newly wed fashion I can not turn up empty handed and I have to impress!

There seems to be a bit of a theme with me and baking- I bake not what I want to, but I bake what the ingredients in my house will let me… racking my brain for recipes or going on the net and typing in what I have in the cupboard and adapting/substituting where I can.

Luckily today I could make a recipe I had without changing it too much- it is not the chocolate chip cookies I wanted to make though.. but I am sure this Sticky Date Cake will be sure to blow their socks off!

Sticky Date Pudding Cake

280g Dates

380g Water

1/4tsp Cinnamon

1/4tsp Nutmeg

1/4tsp Ground ginger

1tsp Vanilla essence

Bring to the boil until the water is NEARLY all gone, pour into a big bowl adding…

280g Brown Sugar

90g Butter at room temperature

Mix to combine, next add..

3 Eggs- one at a time mixing well after each addition

Lastly stir in..

280g Self raising flour

1/2tsp Baking soda

You can make this into individual puddings by pouring into dressed molds (by dressed I mean lightly butter and flour the molds) or you can make into a cake.

Bake 170-180c dependent on size you decide to make and what your oven is like, adjust time… small check after 15min, big check after 30-40min

 I would recommend making double the recipe- so you can freeze one cake for when people pop over and you want to impress.

Butterscotch sauce

300g Brown sugar

180g butter

1tsp Vanilla essence

 300g Cream

Put in a big pot and bring everything to the boil- boil 5min.

This will keep in the fridge for at least a week (if you have that much self control) just heat in the microwave and stir well when ready to serve.

IMG_1046

 

Leave a Reply

