Turn your world upside down

 I keep buying fruit that Mr Lid likes, in the hope that he will one day be inspired to take a piece to work to eat for a snack- instead of the lolly bag he has hidden in his filing cabinet.

Instead I have a fridge full of rotting fruit.

This week its pears. I am lucky I guess as nothing says winter like pears.

When thinking of what to make I often sit and think about what I have to use- imagining tasting it, the texture, what will inhance the flavour, what I have in the house to use and how long it will take.

After going through the list in my head- pears, golden syrup, walnuts, ginger, it all starts to come together and nothing is more heart warming or more comforting than pears baked into an upside down ginger cake oozing with golden syrup.. obvious choice.

Upside down Pear and Ginger cake

3 Pears

Golden syrup

150g Butter

150g Brown sugar

2 Eggs

2Tbs Golden syrup + extra for pears

250g Flour

1/4cup Walnuts

1/2tsp Baking Powder

2tsp Baking Soda

1Tbs Ground Ginger

1/2tsp Cinnamon

160g Sour cream

Core and dice the Pears- I left the skins on as I quite like them.

Start with a couple of tablespoons of golden syrup and mix with the diced pears- depends how much you want I think I used about 3 heaped tablespoons.

Pour pear mix into the bottom of a lined cake tin.

Cream butter and sugar, add eggs one at a time mixing well after each addition, next add the 2Tbs of golden syrup- again mixing well.

Add the remaining ingredients folding the mix till just combined- do not over mix, or the cake will be tough.

Spoon onto pears and bake 160-170c  50-70min depending on your oven- its cooked when a skewer comes out clean.

Once cooked let sit 5min but no longer- tip onto a plate and marvel in the glory of such a beautiful cake.

Best eaten warm.

IMG_1085

Leave a Reply

