Kill two birds

When thinking of what to cook for dinner I am always thinking a day in advanced- at least.
Trying to kill two birds with one stone, as the saying goes.
Tonight Mr Lid has steak- it’s sitting in the fridge waiting to be turned into a magical experience as I type- lets be honest, it is just steak. As long as it turns into a well balanced meal and Mr Lid eats it all, my mission can be considered a success.

I skipped the fruit and vege shop on my way home from the gym this morning opting for a stop at the dairy instead to get milk for Mr Lids morning coffee.

So I shall make do with what I have, and I’m kinda excited about it.
Not because of what it will make for tonight’s dinner- but for what I going to turn the left overs into for tomorrow’s dinner!

Make more than you need so there are leftovers for tomorrow’s dinner…

Baked potato
Potato
Parsnip
Carrot
Goats cheese
Butter
Peel and chop carrot and parsnip- remove the core of the parsnip if too woody. Top the pot with water add some salt and boil till soft, drain and leave the lid off to help dry the mash out.
Pop washed whole potato in the oven 180-200c 30-40 min adjust time depending on the size of the potatoes.
Once soft when squeezed cut the top off the potato and scoop out the insides. Add the potato to the carrot mix- add seasoning and butter and mash, I like my mash a little chunky gives some texture.
Pull out the mixture you won’t be needing for tonight, save it for tomorrow.
Add goats cheese to mash and stuff back into potato shells- serve now or keep warm in the oven. If you don’t like goats cheese use nothing, or any cheese you have, or cream cheese, or even a dab of mayonnaise.

20130715-192124.jpg

Leave a Reply

