Farro Out Dude

I love walking round supermarkets, ever since I was little and Dad and I would go grocery shopping every Sunday. We had a system and I loved that as I got older I could influence what went into the trolley.

Mr Lid and I hardly ever go shopping together, I pop to the shops every couple of days- once I have thought of what I want to cook.

I do love walking round and spotting a bargain which changes the whole meal in my mind, I also love spotting a new ingredient that I wouldn’t usually use.

Today’s inspiration was Farro.

Farro is ancient grain full of fibre and nutrients. Because Farro is a centuries-old grain, and has therefore not been subject to genetic modification, some gluten sensitive people have found that they are able to introduce Farro into their diet.

Baked Farro and Chicken Risotto

A glug of Extra Virgin Olive Oil, plus more for the baking pan & drizzling

1 Onion

1 Clove Garlic

1 1/2 cups Semi-pearled Farro

400G Jar Tomato Pasta Sauce- I used Arrabbiata

The above jar filled with water

1cup Freshly grated Parmesan

Mozzarella for oozy goodness

Chicken- I used breast

Heat the oven to 200c.

Dice onion and cook till translucent in some of the Olive oil in a saucepan, add crushed Garlic and Farro cook for two minutes.

Add Jar of Tomato Pasta sauce, fill empty Jar with water and also add to the pot, stir.

Lightly oil a 8x8inch baking dish.

Once the Farro mix has come to the boil, add 3/4 of the Parmesan, and the sliced chicken, season. Tip the mix carefully into the baking dish.

Cut a piece of grease-proof paper to fit the baking dish and then cover well with tinfoil, make a couple of slits with a knife and bake for 60min.

Remove the tinfoil and paper, stir the Farro mix- taste and check seasoning, dot some mozzarella on top and some more Parmesan- return to the oven to get nice and golden- about 15min.

Serve with a sprinkle of more Olive oil and fresh herbs if you like.

20130805-213025.jpg

Leave a Reply

