New total body workout!

On a sunny afternoon, instead of going to the gym I found myself making bread. Kinda the same thing I say- when I woke up this morning my arms are killing me!

It is so satisfying kneading the bread into a smooth dough, and while it was baking I did squats and lunges on the deck- my kind of gym I say!!

Easy Bread

2 Tbs active dry yeast

1 cup plus 2 Tbs Warm Water (when you put your finger in, it does not feel cold or warm)

1/3 cup Olive oil

1/4 cup Sugar

1 Egg

1 tsp Salt

3 to 4 cups Flour- I used Strong Flour

In a large bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Add oil and sugar, let stand for 5 minutes.

Add the egg, salt and enough flour to form a soft dough.

Turn onto a floured surface, knead until smooth and elastic, about 5-10 minutes. Do not let rise.

Divide into 6-8 pieces, shape each into a ball.

I flattened some of mine with my fingers, topped with olive oil, rosemary and rock salt for some more flavour.

Place on a baking tray lined with grease-proof paper.

Cover and let rest for 30 minutes- till double in size.

Bake at 200c for 10-15 minutes or until golden brown. Remove from pans to wire racks to cool.

This bread is quite sweet and soft – super toasted with homemade Marmalade!

IMG_1395

Leave a Reply

