Its no Bula…

So it is almost back to work time for me- it has been a wonderful three months writing and sharing my passion for good old home style cooking!

Mr Lid and I are off on well deserved Holiday this week, and rather than spend my days writing the blog I will be drinking cocktails and eating as much raw fish as I can stomach!

Have NO FEAR tho- seeing as I knew I would be heading away I have come up with this post. It is long and for four different recipes- they are super easy and oh so yum. You can choose to read this all at once… or split it up over the week… or read it EVERYDAY! I hope you enjoy this as much as I had fun making all these dishes…

I hate getting stuck in a rut. Some times I find that if I have the same ingredients in the fridge I find myself automatically making the same thing week in week out. Which is frustrating if someone in the family likes but does not love this particular dish.

I also find that if you make too much of said same old dish the left overs are never eaten with such enthusiasm as they should be.

What if I told you I have a great combination of items that you can make many a meal out of. All of them different.

All you need to do is make a big batch, split it into however many of the following dishes you want to make and viola you have made several different meals out of one base dish.

IMG_1375

Spinach, pumpkin & Two cheeses

Pumpkin- Diced and roasted

Spinach- Fresh or Frozen (if frozen defrost and squeeze out the excess water)

Equal quantities Cream cheese & Cottage cheese

Pinch Nutmeg

Salt and Pepper

Mix everything together- season to taste and eat!

You can add some chilli, paprika, fried onion, garlic… anything you like.

Seriously I love this stuff cold, hot, warm, on a cracker or transformed into the following dishes…

IMG_1374

Fritters

Take some mix

Add Egg and mix well.

You can add cumin or other spices to your desired taste.

Fry till golden on both sides and finish in the oven till firm.

These are great as a lunch, or as a canape for a party- just garnish with more cream cheese or sour cream

IMG_1373

Stuffed Mushrooms

Mix

Mushroom

Simple really- stuff the mushroom with some of the mix, you can top with some tasty cheese if you like.

Bake in the oven till top is golden and the mushroom is soft.

IMG_1372

Meatballs with a spiced Carrot and Tomato sauce

Beef Mince

Mix

Cumin, Ground Coriander, Nutmeg

Salt and Pepper

(I would have added some Cinnamon if I remembered to buy some)

Fry a little mix in a pan to test the seasoning.

Roll into balls and pop in the fridge till the sauce is ready.

Carrot & Tomato Sauce

Grated Carrot

Grated Celery

Grated Onion

Grated Garlic

Tinned Tomato (chopped)

Tomato paste

Smoked Paprika, Ground Coriander, Ground Cumin, Nutmeg/Cinnamon

In a splash of oil fry the grated vegetables and spices, once soft and fragrant add the tomato paste and cook out- about 5 min. Next add the tinned tomato, cinnamon quill and a splash of water.

Taste, checking seasoning- might need a pinch of sugar to balance the acidity in the tomatoes.

Next pop in the meat balls and cover with a lid. On a medium- low heat cook for about 40min turning meatballs every so often.

If sauce is getting too thick add more liquid- either stock or water, if its getting too watery take the lid off and let reduce.

Serve with couscous and cheese. I made cauliflower rice which is a great way not to have carbs.

Cauliflower Rice

Head of Cauliflower grated

Steam your grated cauliflower with, salt and pepper and a few tablespoons of water with the lid on for a few minutes, until the

cauliflower is tender but not soft. Drain any excess water and taste for seasoning. You can add a little bit of oil or butter.

IMG_1376

Vegetarian Lasagne

Make your favourite tomato sauce add cooked Quinoa to make the meaty layer, use the pumpkin spinach mix to form the white layer. Layer as you would a lasagne- red, pasta, white, pasta, red etc- cover with grated cheese and parmesan and bake.

I cover mine with paper and then tin foil, Bake at 180c 30min uncover and bake another 30min till golden and bubbly.

IMG_1458

IMG_1457

One thought on “Its no Bula…

  1. I love making new things with the same old set of ingredients. We’re eating our way a pumpking every week and I just couldn’t face another pumpkin soup last night. So I got my husband to cut them up into sticks, tossed them with rosemary, salt and olive oil and baked them in a hot oven. Paired with spicy chicken nibbles, this was an eat with your hands dinner that we both loved. Getting stuck in a rut is very easy to do but I enjoy brainstorming new ways to use the same old ingredients. Pretty soon, I start thinking of those dishes as part of my rut and then I have to stretch my creativity even further. It’s a delicious cycle 🙂

Leave a Reply

