Holy Moly Guacamole

Guacamole is one of those things, its healthy, its delicious, and everyone has their own opinion of how to make it.

I remember at family gatherings when growing up when the kiwi classic onion dip and chip were staple pickies.

I also remember when I was about 12 my Mum bringing out a bowl of green mush and cornchips one said gathering… and that just freaked me out. Totally in a good way- something new to try! Awesome- I hate onion dip!

The colour was pale green, the texture creamy and kinda chunky, the taste- changed my world.

Guacamole, is an avocado-based sauce that originated with the Aztecs in Mexico. In addition to its use in modern Mexican cuisine, it has also become popular all over the World.

Back then I remember Mum making it with loads of mayonnaise and sour cream, garlic, lemon, finely diced red onion, Tabasco and tomato concasse (where the seeds of a tomato are scooped out and the remaining flesh is diced) how could this not be delicious?!

Nowadays being more health conscious I prefer to exchange the mayo and sour cream for yoghurt and the corn chips for vegetable sticks- perfect to snack on while watching the Rugby on the T.V on a Saturday night.

Detox Guacamole

1 Avocado

1 clove Grated Garlic

Juice 1/2-1 Lemon (Lime is also lovely)

Kaitaia Fire (Made all natural and with cider vinegar! You could also use fresh diced Chilli)

Salt and Pepper

1/4-1/2 cup Natural Unsweetened Yoghurt

Tbs diced Red Onion (or Spring onion)

Peel the Avocado and mash with a fork to desired consistency- I like mine a little chunky. Add remaining ingredients.

Adjust taste to suit. (if I wasn’t on detox I would add some horseradish)

Eat with vegetable sticks of your liking.

20130907-201741.jpg

Leave a Reply

