Made this morning- scone by the afternoon

I had a hankering this morning for scones.

I was meeting my sister and her soon to be three year old twins at the park for a play then a coffee- what situation is more suited to turn up to with freshly baked scones than this?!

These scones were not your ordinary scone, they were AMAZING- even if I do say so myself! And if you cant take my word for it then take my Mums- because she also loved them.

Those of you who know my Mum know she is a straight shooter who is not afraid to say what she thinks whether its nice or not- and today it was very nice- so nice she told me to take them all home with me when I left or she would eat them all, and that would be bad for the diet!

They were practically good for you as I made them with Extra Virgin Coconut oil instead of fatty butter, they were sweetened with unrefined molasses sugar and had glorious chunks of dark chocolate and tart dried cranberries dotted through the moist and crumbly layers, perfect for a mid morning snack with a hot cuppa .

Vegan Scones

3cups Plain Flour

2Tbs Baking Powder

80g Extra virgin Coconut oil- hard

1/2cup packed Molasses Sugar

Pinch of Salt

With finger tips rub the above ingredients together till there are no lumps of oil (it should look like bread crumbs). This can also be done in  the food processor.

I used Dark Chocolate chunks and Dried Cranberries but you could use white chocolate, dried cherries, orange zest, dates- anything your heart desires.

Mix flavourings into the dry mix and stir till mixed evenly.

Lastly add Rice milk (or any milk you like- almond milk would also be good, or coconut milk) slowly until the mix starts to come together- how much milk – enough so that when you fold to combine no dry flour is left at the bottom of the bowl- if you make it too wet- add some more of the magic mix -too dry add more milk.

Turn out onto a lightly floured bench and cut into 8 portions.

Put onto grease proof paper and bake 180c till a skewer comes out clean- 20-40minutes.

IMG_1628 IMG_1631

Leave a Reply

