Summer salad time

Every afternoon I come home home sit on the couch, laptop at the ready to write something witty, tantalising and interesting about a new experiment I’ve had in the kitchen, my head buzzing full of ideazzzzzzzzz and I promptly fall asleep for what I like to call nap time.

I am not 4, I should not need a nap, but I do.

I start work at 5:25am Monday to Friday- I am not making excuses but well, yes I am.

I have a strict system in the mornings… Alarm goes off at 5:05- I hit snooze and the race is on- the snooze is not a luxury it is a timer… Clothes on, hair up, teeth brushed, lunch packed, kiss Mr Lid goodbye and out the door before the snooze goes off, that’s 10 min to get ready- I’m quite proud of that!

As I mentioned on my Facebook page (here is the link https://www.facebook.com/Mrspotandmrlid?fref=ts just in case you weren’t following me on that form of social media- which would be awesome if you liked and shared with your friends) The last couple of weeks have been hectic hence the lack of posts- so I have taken a day off work to spend in the kitchen creating yummy things I can share with you.

I will start with the salad I had for Lunch- it was light, super quick, easy and delicious..

Roasted Asparagus and Strawberry Salad

Asparagus

Strawberries

Baby Spinach leaves- or any salad greens

Balsamic vinegar

Honey

Seeded Mustard

Oil (anything with a mild flavour)

Bend the asparagus and where it breaks naturally is where  the woody end separates from the tender goodness of the rest of the spares. Cut into bite size pieces- put in a bowl and add strawberries (cut in halves if big and remove the green) add in some oil and salt and pepper toss to coat- put on a baking tray and bake 180c for 5-10 minutes, depending on the thickness of your asparagus.

You want it just tender as it will continue cooking after removed from the oven.

Make a dressing from the balsamic, honey, mustard and oil and sprinkle some over the warm roasted asparagus.

Layer the salad greens (I like baby spinach) and roasted mix adding more dressing if needed.

This salad is yum as it is or for a real treat crumble in some zesty goats feta and crunchy toasted almonds or hazelnuts..mmmmm

20131021-205630.jpg

Leave a Reply

